how diets and husbands don’t always mix

Every time I start a new diet (which is way more often than I’d like to admit) I always tell my husband not to let me eat specific things.  He always gives me a funny look and says something along the lines of “I don’t know… I really don’t want to tell you when to not eat something…” to which I promise him it’s 100% okay because I’m giving him permission and I want him to. Then a few days later when I want something from the list of forbidden foods, I get pissed at him for having the audacity to tell me I shouldn’t eat it. Seriously, how dare he? I’m a grown ass woman, if I want a piece of cake I’m going to eat a damn piece of cake. Get out of here.

When I feel like starting a diet all over again, I swear up-and-down that this time it’s going to be different. Of course, the cycle always repeats itself.

Poor Alex… marriage has been rough on him.

5 thoughts on “how diets and husbands don’t always mix

  1. FindingShay says:

    I use to do the same thing and it takes a toll on your marriage . He just doing what you said my husband has giving up on that subject. You have to do it for you and you should want it for you .. Plus dont do diet girl make it a life change to incorporate healthy foods one meal at a time…Trust me now that I am working out and eating better just because I want to change and im not involving anyone. I see my relationship getting better. weight loss journey is tough
    .. You can do it girl

  2. Mac says:

    I’ve been there, albeit with my girlfriend at the time. Strict dieting blows. I’ve tried, what feels like, all of them, whether they are the ones targeted towards the sports I used to partake in or general health ones. I’ve been sticking with calorie counting though, I’m up to about six weeks straight.. If I want a brownie, cookie (Potbelly cookies!!), or whatever-if I alter the rest of my intake for the day, it makes it less bad…and makes me want the cookie a lot less.

    Good luck!!

  3. Simon Speight says:

    Changing anything is really hard and to succeed you have to have a reason. I used to smoke, had a heart attack (aged 44years old), stopped smoking instantly. If the reason is big enough it can be done.
    Life is for living, maybe instead of an ultra strict diet that is miserable, I found swapping a healthy food for a less healthy one is okay if it’s one at a time, and gradually increasing overtime. Also having a treat day when you can eat whatever you want worked for me – something to work towards.

    • Blair says:

      Very good advice. I’m actually not that strict about it anymore, and it has been going a *lot* better. I’ve been able to find healthier versions of the food I try to avoid. It’s been going great that way. I’m glad you made it through your heart attack — that must have been scary as hell.

Leave a Reply

