get your clothes off the floor, karen

Fun Fact: The word “slut” was originally used to describe a woman who didn’t keep her room clean.

easyamagichappens

All of those years in school I thought people slut-shaming me had no basis. Turns out I was wrong this whole time. I loved being slutty in my room when I was younger. Luckily, for my husband, I don’t participate in that lifestyle anymore. No sluttyness here. I have high standards for keeping the dirtiness out. That’s what happens when you’re married.

58 thoughts on “get your clothes off the floor, karen

  1. Ealachan says:

    I’m like DOUBLY slutty since I got married. There’s a whole other person’s mess besides my own now, and I couldn’t keep my own under control to begin with!

  2. Marissa Bergen says:

    At one point in my life, there were clothes all over the floor of my room…if you know what I mean…I mean like ALL OVER…I mean like you couldn’t step anywhere…okay, TMI? Now I am much, much neater. (But I still like to leave something on the floor…just once in a while).

  3. rachelwhims says:

    My husband is in slut-denial. Sure, at one time he was pure and innocent, and then he married me and all my slutty slutness slutted all over him. (we’re still talkin’ about messy rooms, right? Then oh yeah, he’s a slut.)

  4. toutparmoi says:

    Time was when the adjective “sluttish” could also be applied to men, but you’d get funny looks if you tried that nowadays! And it only applied to the way they looked (unclean and untidy), because they weren’t the ones who did the housework.

    Nowadays I think we’d call males who neglect the housework slobs? Sluts and slobs. I like it.

  5. spartacus2030 says:

    As usual. here you are tickling my funny bone again! I’m beginning to look forward to your romps, they faithfully bust me up!! LMAO! Oooo… I wonder where a bastard comes from? Etomology (The origion of words) is a fascinating study! I happen to like Sluts then… Too clean, and you can’t even touch anything for fear of finger-prints… Great one Blair!!

  6. circumstance227 says:

    Now you are just confusing me. What’s with the “karen” in the title, how do you know my name and that there are piles of clothes on my floor? Sadly I disprove your theory after 26+ years of monogamy . . .

  7. Rosie Scribblah says:

    It’s a generational thing. When I was young, a slut was simply a very untidy woman who didn’t do housework. Now it has a very different meaning. Time to reclaim the word methinks. I’m Slut and I’m Proud!

  8. rgayer55 says:

    Boy, this brings back memories. Our daughter thought “floor” was another word for closet. If she didn’t like the way something looked, she peeled it off and dropped it in the floor. By the time she’d selected an outfit that worked for her, you could no longer see the carpet for the clothes.

    It’s amazing how things change when people move out and have to do their own laundry. The good news is she has a daughter of her own, so payback time is just around the corner.

  9. fireandthefrostbitten says:

    To me both context make sense. I mean there is a metaphorical clean that can be used against someone who is a hoe. I guess if you just take it for its original context, it would be really stupid to call someone a dirty slut. Must have been really dirty.

Leave a Reply

